Hurricane Season

Time left in 2024 Atlantic Hurricane Season
2024 Atlantic Hurricane Season Outlook
2024 Atlantic Hurricane Names
Hurricane Categories
Tropical Weather Terms
Hurricane Ian Path 092722
Hurricane Ian Path 092722-1
Hurricane Ian Path 092722-3
Hurricane Ian Eye & Bands
Hurricane Ian 092722
Hurricane Ian Destruction 092722-3
Hurricane Ian Destruction 092722-1
Hurricane Ian Destruction 092722-2
Hurricane Ian Destruction 092722-2
Hurricane Ian 2022
Hurricane Ian 2022-1
Hurricane Ian 2022-2
Hurricane Ian 2022-3
Hurricane Ian 2022-4
Hurricane Ian 2022-5
Hurricane Ian 2022-6
previous arrow
next arrow

Hurricane Ian was the strongest hurricane to hit Florida since Michael in 2018. It was also the first Category 4 hurricane to impact Southwest Florida since Charley in 2004. Ian thrashed parts of Florida's western coast, bringing intense winds, heavy rainfall, and catastrophic storm surges

Florida Tornado Statistics
Florida EF Rating
EF Ratings Wind Speeds

The Enhanced Fujita Scale or EF Scale, which became operational on February 1, 2007, is used to assign a tornado a 'rating' based on estimated wind speeds and related damage. When tornado-related damage is surveyed, it is compared to a list of Damage Indicators (DIs) and Degrees of Damage (DoD) which help estimate better the range of wind speeds the tornado likely produced. From that, a rating (from EF0 to EF5) is assigned.

Saffir-Simpson Hurricane Scale

The Saffir–Simpson Hurricane Wind Scale (SSHWS),  classifies hurricanes – Western Hemisphere tropical cyclones that exceed the intensities of tropical depressions and tropical storms – into five categories distinguished by the intensities of their sustained winds.

  • Tropical depression: The first stage of a tropical weather event is called a tropical depression. Meteorologists sometimes refer to these formations as a tropical wave, disturbance, feature, system or disturbance. Tropical depressions are cyclones with winds that gust at 38 miles per hour (33 knots) or less. While cyclones aren’t as strong as tropical storms or hurricanes, they can bring significant amounts of rain, thunderstorms and devastating floods.
  • Tropical storm: Meteorologists upgrade a tropical depression to a tropical storm when the cyclone’s circulation is more organized and has sustained wind speeds of 39 to 73 miles per hour (34 to 63 knots). Tropical storms produce large amounts of rain, and can cause enough wind and wave activity to damage boats and erode beaches. When a weather event qualifies as a tropical storm, meteorologists categorize it according to the Saffir-Simpson Scale.
    • Disturbance Formation.
    • Tropical Disturbance.
    • Tropical Depression.
    • Tropical Storm.
    • Hurricane.
    • Dissipation.
Beaufort Wind Scale

The Beaufort scale is an empirical measure that relates wind speed to observed conditions at sea or on land.

Severe Thunderstorm Risk Categories

Severe Thunderstorm Risk Categories - The NWS defines a severe thunderstorm as any storm that produces one or more of the following elements:
1. A tornado
2. Damaging winds or speeds of 58 mph (50 knots) or greater.
3. Hail 1 inch in diameter or larger.

Hurricane Watch Net

Hurricane Watch Net
14.325  MHz Day / 7.268 MHz Night


Amateur Radio Station
at the National Hurricane Center